For perspective, 130 years is:
Where did it all start?
The hotel was first built in 1890 for Thomas Burke, who contracted prominent Brisbane architects John Hall & Son for the building’s design. The hotel’s position on Annerley Road (then called Boggo Road) was quite advantageous due to the large number of bullock drivers who were travelling through on the teamster trail from the Darling Downs. Burke remained owner and proprietor of the hotel until 1899 before selling it on. It has since had a number of owners but in the 1980’s was named “Burke’s Hotel” in his honour The hotel retains a fair amount of its original architecture, substantially intact for a nineteenth century hotel. Burke’s Hotel late came to be known as the RedBrick, not because of the hotel’s exterior, but the red 10 pound notes – known as “bricks” – that were used by the bookies when settling bets in the public bar.
In 1996, the hotel was purchased by the Hakfoort Group, who continue to run the hotel to this day. RedBrick Hotel closed in 2017 for an extensive internal and external refurbishment, opening later that year and bringing its old world charm back to Annerley Road. A key part of the design direction was stripping back the paint and render off the external and internals walls of the building, revealing the original “red bricks”. The dining was relocated back to the heritage part of the hotel, showcasing the stunning interior features that were previously hidden